Eight newcomers in team for Loughborough Students clash

Eight new players are in the Ealing Trailfinders team that Director of Coaching Ben Ward has selected to take on Loughborough Students in the season opening match on Saturday.

Captain Tom Brown will link up with fellow newcomer Arthur Ellis in the back row that is completed by the familiar of face of former youth team player Sean O’Connell.

Further forward in the pack, props Jamie Kilbane and Alex Penny pack down either side of Romanian international Andrei Radoi, while behind them two other summer arrivals – Gary Johnson and Carwyn Jones – will start in the engine room.

Behind the scrum Welsh pair Alex Walker begins at scrum-half, while Matt Jarvis will run out at fullback.

Elsewhere in the backline there are five players that fans will recognise from last season.

Ward will wear his usual number 10 shirt and outside him Tom Wheatcroft and Ronnie McLean pair up in the centres with Phil Chesters and Chris Kinloch on the wings.

Ealing Trailfinders v Loughborough Students, Vallis Way, 15.00
1 Jamie Kilbane
2 Andrei Radoi
3 Alex Penny
4 Carwyn Jones
5 Gary Johnson
6 Sean O’Connell
7 Arthur Ellis
8 Tom Brown (captain)
9 Alex Walker
10 Ben Ward
11 Phil Chesters
12 Tom Wheatcroft
13 Ronnie McLean
14 Chris Kinloch
15 Matt Jarvis
16 Kevin Davis
17 Nathan Buck
18 Llewelyn Jones
19 Danny Kenny
20 James Love