REPORT: Ealing Trailfinders 10 – 28 Moseley

A young Ealing Trailfinders team were unable to make it back to back wins as they returned from Moseley with a loss in the British and Irish Cup.

Simon Sexton, Sam Randle, George Merrick, Richard Palframan and Cody Blackhurst all made their first XV debuts in a match in which Chris Kinloch scored Ealing’s lone try and Tom Wheatcroft kicked a penalty and conversion.

Ealing started strongly and after a good turn over by Tim Brockett at a Moseley lineout the backs took their chance to stretch their legs early on. Moseley then had a go themselves and won a penalty which fly-half Scott Browne kicked.

The hosts had the chance to stretch their lead further when Number 8 Chris Brightwell raced clear down the wing, but Will Magie and Wheatcroft stopped him short of the line.

Moments later though the England 7s international forced his way over after a number of drives from Moseley’s forward pack close to the line.

After both sides traded blows Browne kicked another penalty before Brightwell charged through to score his second.

Ealing ended the half with their first points through a Wheatcroft penalty. The fullback had been part of the move that had take play into the Moseley 22 after Magie and Randle carried on the momentum after TJ Anderson’s initial break.

Browne landed another penalty soon after the teams returned for the second half and then the host forwards won a penalty try at a scrum.

Ealing upped their tempo and began to threaten the Moseley line and eventually Kinloch found a gap and raced in behind the posts for Wheatcroft to convert.

While Ealing were unable to add to their score, it did give their fans something to cheer before their return home from south Birmingham.

Ealing Trailfinders
Tom Wheatcroft, Sam Wardingley, Chris Kinloch, Tom Bedford, Sam Randle, Will Magie, Tom Parker; Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, Richard Townsend, Tim Brockett, Matt Evans, George Merrick, TJ Anderson, Jack Pattinson, Alex Bradley
Cody Blackhurst, Ryan Storer, Richard Palframan, Sam Hocking, Gavin Curry, Simon Sexton, Phil Chesters
Mike Penn, Simon Hunt, Greg King, Will Owen, Dai Evans, Scott Browne, Alex Day; Stefan Thorp, Will Evans, Ben Evans, Nigel Burrows, Mike Powell, Buster Lawrence, Joe Carpenter, Chris Brightwell
Craig Voisey, Jack Lea, Adam Parkins, Neil Mason, Oliver Robinson, David Brazier, Anthony Carter