REPORT: Ealing Trailfinders 34 – 25 Bedford Blues

Ealing Trailfinders continued their impressive form in pre-season with a six-try win against last season’s Greene King IPA Championship rivals.

It only took 10 minutes for Ben Ward’s team to get on the scoresheet when Club captain Tom Brown marked his debut when he scooted over following a scrum after a yellow card for Bedford flanker Josh Buggea had reduced Bedford to 14 men.

Soon after Alex Bradley found the corner to increase the lead to 10 points, before the Blues responded through England U20 World Cup winner Nathan Earle.

The Saracens dual-registration player finished off in the corner to reduce the deficit, but Ealing Trailfinders soon responded when Michael Walker-Fitton went over for the third try.

A Bedford penalty made it 15-8 but Trailfinders’ Tom Parker then dotted down in the corner, though again Bedford replied when skipper Nick Fenton-Wells crossed the whitewash before the break.

Bedford started the second half strongly and grabbed tries through Eoin Sherrif and Paul Tupai to draw to within three points.

However, the hosts had the last word; firstly through Ronnie McLean who dotted down between the posts and the wing Chris Kinloch, who scored his second of pre-season.

Ealing Trailfinders complete their pre-season fixtures next Saturday, 30 August, away to Moseley, kickoff 15.00.

Ealing Trailfinders
Jarvis, Kinloch, McLean, Reay, Wardingley, Ward, Walker; Kilbane, Radoi, Penny, Walker-Fitton, Carwyn Jones, O’Connell, Bradley, Brown (captain)
Kevin Davis, Karl Gibson, Ignas Darkintas, Gary Johnson, Llewelyn Jones,
Danny Kenny, Morgan Thompson, Tom Wheatcroft, James Copsey
Bedford Blues
Jim Wigglesworth, Nathan Earle, Henry Staff, Ollie Dodge, Dean Adamson, Steffan Jones, Darryl Veenendaal; Billy Moss, Jared Saunders, Phil Boulton, Eoin Sheriff, Ben Gulliver, Justin Blanchet, Josh Buggea, Nick Fenton-Wells (captain)
Tom Williams, TJ Harris, Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, Paul Tupai, Mike Howard, Kennet O’Neill, Joe Vandermolen, Kieran Duffin, Jake Sharp, Steve Ellis, Micheal Le Bourgeois, Pat Tapley, James Pritchard