REPORT: Ealing Trailfinders 7-21 Bristol Rugby

Ealing Trailfinders put in an impressive display against Bristol in a match in which they had one of the favourites to win the Greene King IPA Championship reeling at times.

Fans didn’t have to wait long for the scoring to start; Bristol’s forward pack went on the attack, but after repeatedly hammering the Ealing line Tom Bedford pounced onto a loose pass and raced the length of the pitch to score his second try of the season that Ben Ward converted.

Stephen Pape/Sam Wilkes v Bristol

Bristol continued to use their forwards and eventually flanker Nick Koster was driven over from a lineout, with former Wales fly-half Nick Robinson adding the extras from the touchline. Soon after their pack won a penalty try, which Robinson had no problem converting to open a 14-7 lead.

With the wind behind them Bristol continued to pressure the Ealing line. Ronnie McLean stopped wing Ryan Edwards as he threatened to break through, so they turned to their pack and hooker Rhys Lawrence was driven over.

Despite Bristol holding the advantage Ealing ended the half on the attack and only desperate Bristol defence kept the hosts at bay.

The match remained scoreless for the first quarter of the match, though both teams did their best in the wind and run to move the ball and threaten one another’s lines.

Romanian international hooker Andrei Radoi came on to make his Ealing debut and as the match wore on Ealing took control of proceedings.

Ward picked out Phil Chesters with a cross-kick and the wing was only inches from reaching the line. In the end it was Ealing who looked more likely to secure a bonus points as they ended on the attack.

Ealing Trailfinders
Andrew Henderson, Chris Kinloch, Ronnie McLean, Tom Bedford, Phil Chesters, Ben Ward, Morgan Thompson; Steve Neville, Sam Wilkes, Conor Carey, Steve Pape, Adam Preocanin (Captain), Matt Evans, Ed Siggery, Sean O’Connell
Andrei Radoi, Darryl Marfo, Tim Brockett, Gavin Curry, Sam Hocking, Tom Parker, Tom Wheatcroft
Bristol Rugby
Jack Tovey, George Watkins, Andy Short, Luke Eves, Ryan Edwards, Nicky Robinson, Callum Braley; Kyle Traynor, Rhys Lawrence, Gaston Cortes, Glen Townson, Mark Sorenson (captain), Nick Koster, Marco Mama, Mitch Eadie.
Ollie Hayes, James Hall, Ben Skirving, James Merriman, Luke Baldwin, Adrian Jarvis, Charlie Amesbury